Poets logo

The mystery deepens

Sometimes reason and logic don't help.

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The mystery deepens
Photo by The Tampa Bay Estuary Program on Unsplash

The mystery deepens.

Why would anybody steal the jar containing the

Tadpoles, in the first place.

And now it looks as

If somebody has stolen the frogs from the pound too,

Now who would do such a thing?

Think of the time and patience,

You need to catch a frog.

If you don’t want to get wet

And have to jump in at the deep end.

It puzzles me how all of this can happen

This is a quiet street

With no through traffic

One of the neighbours, maybe,

But they are all nice people,

And most are ancient,

In anyone’s book.

What happened and how do I react?

Do I get the police involved?

I would have to tell them

Where I was the evening of the jar robbery

And why I do know that the frogs are gone?

Might have been the grand-children,

From next door.

They were here over last weekend.

That would explain the jar theft,

But the frogs

I can not come up with a good enough reason for either.

Am thinking so hard I have got

Steam coming out of my ears,

But I want to know

I just need to know.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.