Poets logo

The Mundane

A poetic look into into the tedious part of life, and realizing there is no escape.

By Will BakerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Mundane
Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

On a night such as this, sleeping soundly to the quiet bliss, my bed cool and calm, suddenly awoken by the sound of a bomb.

It’s time to wake… I open my eyes and start to shake, realizing what it takes just to survive. But, to survive, I have to deprive my very instinct to thrive, and accept my fate that I cannot escape. It makes me want to cry, and long for the day I die.

But, I can’t give up and have to get up, from my bed and at least try to get ahead, because after all I’m not dead.

There are those who are in the grave, who would love to trade and finally live a life unafraid. They know the end, they recognize the sin, of living a life with the pain of the mundane.

I have to work, but I also have to live, so I live to work and work to live. How do I change the insane? And, still remain sane in a world that has become my bane? But, nothing will change, because I get ready each and every morning and do the same ole same. I gotta admit life is lame, but how the fuck do I change?

I have dreams, I have ambitions, but every time I give myself permission to get myself in position to live, it seems like I always fall back into submission, and just accept my fate, and make excuses, and tell myself that all these dreams and ambitions are useless. I gotta stop doing this.

We’re all going to die, regardless or not we try.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Will Baker

My name is Will, I am an aspiring writer trying to find my voice in literature. I am writing books, short stories, and running the Absurd Complex blog site.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.