Poets logo

The Mother

Does she care?

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6
The Mother
Photo by Irina Iriser on Unsplash

====================================================

Gods, spirits, and man,

All bow heads to the mother,

She thrives to spite them.

====================================================

By Adam Kring on Unsplash

A/N: What is your interpretation of this haiku? I would love to know in the comments!

Another haiku to keep my page active while I work on some bigger things! I hope you enjoyed it!

Haiku
6

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 25 days ago

    As a mother, I agree with Hanna. As a only child/daughter to my mother I like your arrangement as it suits our rather rocky relationship. My mother doe not seem to like me and is quite the narcissistic parent. I had to feed her it felt. I am roaming through The Vocal today discovering writer's I have never read, so hello!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I feel like (syllables aside) I want it to be in spite of them rather than to spite them, in my kind of mental model of the world.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I got power of nature from this, particularly the idea of Mother Nature. There is reverence for it but it will do its own thing. The word "spite" along with "thrives" suggests that there is an enjoyment from it; that she needs to do it in order to be strong and that it is selfishly motivated as well as a demonstration of her power over us. But ultimately, mothers are meant to nurture. Maybe it's for our own good? Either way, we're at her mercy as we "bow to her".

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautiful. They bow to her, but still see her as less than and there them. And, as Donna said, that could be either Mother, or Mother Nature.. or both.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    This was beautiful TWW! My interpretation is either a nod to motherhood or mother nature. The idea that all things are centred around nature and how she thrives, the one true ruler of our planet!

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    Nice to see new Haiku From you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.