Poets logo

The Monkey and the Glorious Mango

Distraction is everywhere

By L.ClabroughPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
31
The Monkey and the Glorious Mango
Photo by Juan Rumimpunu on Unsplash

Distra…? Dastri? Hold on, what is the blasted word?

Is it distrably or dustriction? No, they’re totally absurd!

Swinging high by branch I was, and fast through morning air…

Then suddenly it caught my eye, I could not help but stare.

Ravishing! And Luscious! A juicy breakfast treat.

A glorious ripe mango, impossible to beat!

Could have sworn I’d judged the distance though, toward the hidden fruit…

Though the sight of it bewitched me so, and I plunged to meet a root.

I know there is a word for that, which would fit my tale so well.

Only, my head simply cannot recall as it throbs and starts to swell.

No wait! I’ve got it… Oh hey, that’s a cool stick.

nature poetryhumor
31

About the Creator

L.Clabrough

Welcome! That’s for reading my work!

I write all sorts of things, and I try to challenge myself regularly,

But I mostly enjoy jaunty humour and offbeat adventures in my writing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Haha, this is hilarious!! Great job!!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is genius! So clever, so fun and very relatable for anyone with even a slightly short attention span. Congrats on the Top Story and you have yourself a new subscriber!

  • Lol, this was fun and quirky! I can relate so much as I have a very short attention span. Congratulations on your Top Story! I've subscribed to you!

  • very good

  • Way to go with this Cool Story of yours 🎉💖🎉🎉 Congratulations on your Top Story❗❗❗❗ Keep them Coming🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Md Nazmul Islam11 months ago

    Congratulations and happy

  • A. Lenae11 months ago

    Such a fun and unique take on the challenge! Love the rhyming scheme and the way the monkey's physical journey mirrored a feel of bouncy inquisitiveness that the poem possesses. Great work!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    This is great! Love the rhythm and your rhyme choices. A cute voice to write in. Well deserved TS!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Great title and a fun poem for the challenge!

  • Cool entry for the challenge ❤️💯📝

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    🤣🤣. This was a great one for the challenge, well done! I liked the rhymes you went with too 🤣

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This flows like Poe!!! Great use of words.

  • Matthew Fromm11 months ago

    Well done. A good bit of humor in this.

  • This is so well done. Playful and adventurous. The flow is perfect

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.