Poets logo

The Moments That Keep Me Here

Home is the moments in life that remind me to keep going

By Riley ForestPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Home is where I feel joy, a sense of safety, and love

Joy

Being in the warm sun with your best

Friends

At a dog beach

Floating in the cool ocean water with your people

On a hot day

Watching dogs play.

///

Safety

Smells of vanilla and books

Feels like one big bear hug wrapping you in warmth and love

Sounds like soft rain on the windows.

Love

That memory that saved my life;

Of sitting on the couch at my mom’s feet / waiting like an eager

Puppy for a treat.

Then pouncing into her arms for a full-on bear hug,

Whether she was ready for it or not.

I was giddy with joy that she was my mom, and I could do things like that.

I was her daughter.

I am her daughter. Her daughter who could give and receive as many hugs as her heart desired.

"This would be what I missed the most if I died tonight", I thought to myself, as the handful of pills made their way into my system, to do the job I forced upon them / In death I would no longer be someone’s daughter.

I would no longer be able to give and receive that love.

As I felt my heart slow, I realized that my heart still had so much love left to give, so many more hugs to hug, hugs to receive.

So, I stayed.

I held on,

To that joy that my younger self felt while pouncing on my mom.

I held on to that loving feeling because I could feel my heart beating/ fighting to stay,

Stay where that love was, even when my depression had told me that there wasn’t any love left for me in this world.

In that moment when all I could feel was the beat of my heart diminishing, I knew there had to be more love yet to be found. More of that joy to be felt. I realized that in the moments when I thought I would be most at peace, when the world would go quiet, and my body would go still, I realized I made a mistake.

I realized I was still a daughter,

A sister,

A friend.

I realized that there was still love for me to feel; which meant that there was still a home for me

Here.

///

If you or someone you love is struggling with suicidal thoughts or ideations, you are not alone, there is help available:National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255

///

To see Riley performing this piece at a local coffee shop, click the link to follow to their YouTube channel

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Riley Forest

(they/them)

Thanks for joining me on this adventure.

Reading and writing help me feel less alone. I love all forms of art.

Born in Alberta, CA. Based in Florida, US.

Link to my Youtube channel to see videos of my poetry!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.