Poets logo

The Mistake I Made With My Poetry Books

What I learned as a writer

By Monee MyersPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Mistake I Made With My Poetry Books
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

The Mistake I Made With My Poetry Books:

When I published my first poetry book, Soul Searching, I was so thrilled and excited for the journey of being a published author. The poems in the first book were great, establishing the tone of who I am as a poet. Two years later, after Soul searching, I released my second book, Losing Focus.

I published Losing Focus in February 2020 during my last year of college. That particular semester of spring was challenging for me. I ran around trying to graduate early, get an internship, and keep up with my assignments. Thinking about that spring semester brings back stressful memories.

Let me tell you how this affected my second book. I did not, and I repeat, I did not allow myself time to create a second poetry book that showed vulnerability. The only thing concerning my mind was graduating and keeping up the momentum after the first book.

I'm not saying the poems were not good in Losing Focus; they did not make me feel something. I put words together that sounded good, and I forgive myself for that. I forgive myself for not being vulnerable in that book. I forgive myself for not taking my time with Losing Focus. The irony about this is I put so much effort into the second book. I had a photoshoot, designed a cover that would stand out, and self-promoted it on all social media more than I did my first book.

As corny as this may sound, I feel like I treated my first book like Cinderella's stepmom treated her. I know, I know, real original Monee, lol. Yet, that's how I feel about my two poetry books; the first book, Soul Searching, did not get enough love from its creator. While Losing Focus got all the love.

So, with all that said, what have I learned from self-publishing? Take my time, give myself creatively and vulnerable space to create something more meaningful. The most important thing I will take with me into my next third poetry book, Ready to Awaken, is to remember that I write to heal others with my words and give people relatable poetry. I want people to read my work and say, " wow, I felt those words." Next time, I will do just that. I will learn from my mistakes and continue to grow as a writer.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Monee Myers

27

B.A. in Writing Studies, minor journalism

Writing is something I loved since I was in the 8th grade. I love to express myself in my writing.

I enjoy writing, and I hope you will find enjoyment in my writing as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.