Poets logo

The milk is off

When the snooze button dictates your life

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The milk is off
Photo by Sdf Rahbar on Unsplash

Why is it that those five minutes just before having to do myself violence?

By putting a foot on the floor to start a new day, am I at my most relaxed and happy?

Just snuggled under a mountain of bedding, at ease with me and the world.

Remembering days full of life and love,

Forgotten for a time all those things that could keep me in bed,

For the rest of my days.

Those five minutes when all is well,

Peace is everywhere,

Climate change happens somewhere else.

My fridge is full of food.

My savings can stretch to a dream holiday.

But then the snooze button,

Bedlinens need washing,

Bins are overflowing and the bathroom,

Forget it!

Will not phone in sick

Or I would have to start dealing with all the unpleasantness.

Accept that the dream holiday,

Will not materialise again.

A trip to the parents or that friend from Uni,

Who keeps inviting me and I never go?

Even the milk is off,

Bubble has burst,

Back to the now and its realism.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.