Poets logo

The matter of Hair

and little sisters

By Novel AllenPublished 16 days ago β€’ 1 min read

Everyone knows how much I love my lovely locks, they are my crowning glory

Sister, may we please practice the snipping of hair, upon your glorious well pruned head

Five little siblings have I, all eager to become little shearers of, well, somebody's, anybody's mane:

Of course, I replied emphatically, 'no'...

The little devil-ettes plotted and planned, patiently biding their time

I fell asleep upon the hammock, beneath the warm and cuddly July sky

I never heard them creeping up, snip, snip, snippity snip, all five

I awoke from what I naturally thought a dream, to find myself quite bald, yet somehow really quite beautiful

Nevertheless, I fired up the cauldron, and proceeded to boil them one by one

The little witches giggled and voluntarily jumped into the boiling pot

Mother had somehow heard the furore and reacted swiftly, inventing the cold fire of witchery

My inquisitive little sisters had no idea that I really meant to boil them in a cauldron most hot

Mother thought me quite mad and pondered sending me to Hogwarts School for the mentally insane witch and wizard

Yet can you honestly say that you would not have done the same

Of course I love my sisters dearly...How can you even ask? Oh, you mean the boiling

Maybe if you got to know them, you would also try to cook them

What is that you say...maybe I am the monster in this story

I see that the little witches got to you...ok

Fall asleep around them, I dare you!!!!!!

.............................................................................

humorFor FunFamilychildrens poetry

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Grz Colm15 days ago

    Hey Novel, how are you going? Hope u are travelling well.. ☺️ Rockin the bald cut! 😁 I’m glad this has never happened to me. How devious!! Was this partly autobiographical, Novel? πŸ˜†

  • Tiffany Gordon 15 days ago

    😁 What a stunning bald head! Maybe you'll start a new trend!!

  • Sasi Kala16 days ago

    It's a delightful mix of humor and mischief, capturing the chaotic energy of sibling dynamics in a highly entertaining way. Ahahahah!

  • No of course you're not the monster hahahahahaha. I wish I could eat them after you boiled them 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

  • Luksi Bayou16 days ago

    I laughed out loud on this one, Novel Allen! I thought for a moment that the "boiling cauldron" was going to just be a bathtub of bathwater but, no, she really meant to boil those rascals πŸ˜‚

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    lol...My sister, ten years my junior, cut up my best bra and poured out all my Chanel # 5, a Christmas gift. I wanted to boil her that day, for sure. I don't remember what I did to incur her wrath. It might have been a bad haircut?

  • Smile was there in my face when reading this!!!

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.