Poets logo

The Mask I Wear

Behind the Smile

By Allan MPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Finding the courage to be vulnerable and authentic

I stand before the crowd with a smile so bright,

Hiding the pain and the fear that I fight,

The perfect mask I wear, never to crack,

But behind it lies a soul that's under attack.

```

The world sees me as flawless, beyond compare,

But they don't know the struggles that I bear,

The weight of their expectations is so high,

That I'm afraid to let them see me cry.

```

So I put on a show, a performance so grand,

And I hope they don't see the sweat on my hands,

But the truth is I'm human, with flaws and all,

And the mask I wear is starting to fall.

```

I long for the day when I can be free,

To be myself, and just simply be,

No more hiding, no more disguise,

Just living life with truth in my eyes.

```

So if you see me struggling, don't look away,

Reach out your hand and help me find my way,

For the mask I wear is heavy and it's tough,

And I need someone to help me take it off.

```

sad poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Allan M

Aspiring creative writer with a passion for storytelling. Always eager to learn and grow, seeking opportunities to develop my skills and gain experience in the field.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Great take on the challenge! I love the feel and flow of your words!

  • Lakshmi Narashimanabout a year ago

    Nice one! Can you please check my posts as well and let me know if you like them? I am a new writer and the following are my posts. https://vocal.media/poets/blue-moon-ka77gr01qz https://vocal.media/horror/strange-land-part-1

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.