Horror logo

Strange Land - Part 1

Dreams that takes our breath away

By Lakshmi NarashimanPublished about a year ago 4 min read
6

I woke up in a dark, damp basement, with no memory of how I got there. The only light came from a small, flickering bulb hanging from the ceiling. I tried to stand up, but my hands and feet were tied to a metal chair. Panic started to set in as I realized I was a prisoner.

I heard footsteps coming down the stairs, and a figure appeared in the doorway. It was a tall, dark figure, with glowing eyes and a twisted smile. It approached me, holding a shiny knife in its hand.

I tried to scream, but the figure covered my mouth with its hand. It told me that I was there because I had been chosen, and that I was going to be a part of a ritual. I struggled against my bindings, trying to break free.

The figure started to chant in a language I couldn't understand, and the room started to spin. The walls and floor started to change, becoming more twisted and dark. I felt like I was losing my mind.

Suddenly, the figure grabbed my arm and started to carve symbols into my skin. I screamed in pain, but no one came to my rescue. The figure continued to chant, and I felt like I was being pulled into a deep, dark abyss.

I woke up in a cold sweat, back in my own bed. I rubbed my eyes, trying to shake the feeling of dread that lingered from the dream. But as I looked down at my arm, I saw the symbols carved into my skin. It was then that I realized that the nightmare wasn't over yet.

As I rubbed my eyes and tried to calm down, I heard a noise coming from the closet. I slowly walked over and opened the door, only to find the figure from my dream standing inside. I stumbled backwards, tripping and falling onto the floor.

The figure stepped out of the closet, its eyes glowing in the dark. It reached out its hand and grabbed me, pulling me closer. I tried to scream, but no sound came out. I was paralyzed with fear.

The figure whispered in my ear, telling me that it had followed me from the dream into reality. It said that I was now a part of the ritual, and that I would never escape.

I felt a cold chill run down my spine as I realized that I was trapped in a nightmare that wouldn't end. The figure started to drag me back into the darkness, and I felt myself being pulled into the abyss once again.

I screamed and woke up, this time in a cold, damp alleyway. I was shivering, and my clothes were soaked through. I rubbed my eyes, trying to figure out where I was. I was completely disoriented and scared.

As I tried to stand up, I heard a voice behind me. I turned around and saw the figure from my dream, standing in the shadows. It told me that it was my destiny to be a part of the ritual, and that there was no escape.

I screamed and ran, trying to find my way back to reality. But no matter where I went, the figure was always one step behind me, taunting me and dragging me deeper into the darkness. I was trapped in a never-ending cycle of terror, and I couldn't find a way out.

As I ran down the dark alleyway, I heard the figure's laughter echoing behind me. It seemed to be getting closer and closer, no matter how fast I ran. I was panting and sweating, my heart racing with fear.

I turned a corner and saw a dim light in the distance. I ran towards it, hoping it was a way out. But as I got closer, I realized it was a group of people, all dressed in black robes, chanting and performing a ritual.

In the center of the group, I saw someone tied to a stone altar, struggling and screaming. And standing over them was the figure from my dream, holding a sharp knife in its hand.

I tried to turn and run, but the figure grabbed me by the arm and pulled me into the group. It forced me to my knees and told me that I was going to be the next sacrifice.

The chanting grew louder, and the room started to spin. I felt like I was losing my mind. I tried to struggle and break free, but I was too weak. The figure raised the knife, ready to strike.

And then, suddenly, I woke up, back in my own bed. My heart was pounding, and I was covered in sweat. I rubbed my eyes, trying to shake the feeling of dread that lingered from the dream. But when I looked at my arm, I saw the symbols from the ritual, etched into my skin.

I realized with terror that the nightmare was far from over, and that the figure from my dream was still after me. I was trapped in a cycle of fear, and I didn't know how to escape.

halloweenvintagesupernaturalslasherpsychologicalmonsterfiction
6

About the Creator

Lakshmi Narashiman

Writing my heart out | Want to make you live my moments through my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • P. K. Ganiabout a year ago

    Not one to read at bedtime then, a neverending nightmare. It could symbolise dark shadows in the night representing ill suited personalities in our reality, be it relationships, friendships or work.

  • Mack D. Amesabout a year ago

    That was very interesting. By the end of it, I was certainly beginning to feel the primary character's panic, because each time "you" woke up and looked down, I expected the markings on the arm to be gone, especially that last time. When the markings were still there, my heart jumped into my throat. Nicely written.

  • Allan Mabout a year ago

    Nice one! I can relate to this and it's the most terrifying feeling when i cannot discern between reality or in a dream state.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.