Poets logo

The Martian Chronicles

Earthlings are a plague - Thank you, Ray Bradbury

By Dana CrandellPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
16
The Martian Chronicles
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Earthlings invade Mars

Martians die, Earthlings nuke Earth

Earthlings are Martians

***

The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury. Cover image copyright Doubleday and/or the artist.

Can you tell I'm a scifi/dystopian fiction fan? I didn't think so. This book has undergone many revisions. I read the original when I was young. Revisions aren't always an improvement.

This was written in response to one of Judey Kalchik's fun challenge ideas. Join in, we'd love to see what ya' got!

social commentarysurreal poetryCONTENT WARNING
16

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I can see this being 100% true.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Dana this was a tragic but kind of funny haiku for me! (I have a dark sense of humour). I've never the book but now I'm intrigued to do so! Thank you for adding to my other reading list!

  • Rui Alves10 months ago

    Masterfully done! Chapeau!

  • Ain't that just like us.

  • Oooo, your Haiku-review was so intriguing that I have to read that book so bad!

  • Now this is what I think of when I think of a short and sweet poem. Great Job

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    Hahahaha, this is so fucking wry and deadpan. Love it Dana. Also, I wasn't subscribed to you? What a crime. Thought I was. Was wondering if you fell off a cliff. Turns out you were paragliding.

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    Bradbury, Heinlein, and Asimov are all my favorites!

  • Cool 👍 Review

  • Stupid earthlings

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Earthlings are idiots. Well done.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    I read this for the first time a few years ago. It was really good and my favourite piece of it was “There will Come Soft Rains” The strange ghostly cross over between the earthlings and the martians was a little esoteric for my taste. Do you remember that one? Where a guy at a gas station sort of phases through reality to a Martian city? I could be misremembering

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.