Poets logo

The Man Behind The Mask

The ½ Blind Date

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Man Behind The Mask
Photo by Adam Nieścioruk on Unsplash

Zoomers are a funny generation

They can start a online empire

but are too scared

to ask the girl they like

out for coffee

*

He told me

he’s over Tinder

That it’s not getting him

what he wants

*

“That’s why I don’t do Tinder.”

*

“Then how do you meet people?”

“I swipe right in real life.”

*

"You're not afraid of getting rejected?"

"I'm more afraid of looking back

and regretting not taking the chance

to go for what I want in life."

*

“And that works!?”

“It got me a date last Monday.”

*

It was a ½ blind date

That’s the weird part about

hitting on people during quarantine

You only know their eyes and their voice

*

I could tell he was an Aquarius

when he texted me

“Have you seen my whole face yet?”

“Not yet.”

“Does that make you nervous?”

“Nah.”

*

I love a good mystery

but I was curious to see

Who is the man behind the mask

with the slow voice and the curly hair?

*

When I got to the door

I realized I made the right swipe

*

His face was adorned

with a mustache I did not expect

draped over a smile that was priceless

*

He was nervous about me hitting

on people like that often

So, I told him the truth

“I stay low key,

but I felt like you were worth

shooting my shot.”

*

I was nervous because

he told me he sold

drugs to college kids at UCSB

and I promised myself

“I’m done dating drug dealers.”

But he told me the truth

That it was a phase when he was 19

Now he’s focused on healing

*

Once we eased the discomfort

things were easy

We talked

We played

We took in

the comfortable silences

*

Aquarians are weird as fuck

and I love that

*

Because I can take off my skin

and be the alien that I am

*

We spent the evening

without any expectations

but just to understand

who the other person is

behind the mask

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.