Poets logo

The Lure of Lust

Temptations of the worldly nature

By Tony BacaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

Magnetic forces deep within

Cosmic laws control the spin

As we dwell in perfect sin

I wonder if he feels chagrin

.

A scripture from a book was taken

Crucified and thus mistaken

Your soul exposed and now awaken

The debts you’ll pay are not forsaken

.

Greed consumed and lustful thoughts

I felt the burn but heard no shots

Before me stands a promised land

I reach to grasp, but there’s no hand

.

Asked again what I have learned

Confused I shrug with no concern

I take a number and wait my turn.

Eternal life or eternal burn

.

Greed pursues us with a dance

Seduction lures us into chance

In pursuit of sheer romance

The evilness of which we prance

.

The sphere consumes us in its wrath

Providing detours to our path

I sold my soul he grinned and laughed

But now I fear the aftermath

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Tony Baca

Just gathering inspiration along the way in this thing we call "Life." I prefer to write about the trials and tribulations of societal issues, but will immerse myself in a few other genres as well. Please drop by and say Hello! Cheers..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dylan about a year ago

    This is deep 👀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.