Poets logo

The loss of you.

A poem in loving memory of my grandmother.

By Trisha Brandhorst Published 2 years ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
99
The loss of you.
Photo by eberhard šŸ– grossgasteiger on Unsplash

Tears are falling

heart is aching,

slowly but surely

my heart is breaking,

How do you let go of

someone you hold so dear,

how do you begin to say goodbye

when all you want is to hold them near?

Reliving memories of the past in my mind,

I keep playing them over and over stuck in rewind,

Wishing I could bring it all back

why couldn't you stay?,

But the truth is I know why....

heaven needed their angel back home today,

So we may weep and wish we had another day,

But what we need to always remember

Is you were a true angel on this earth

and angels aren't meant to stay.

Written by Trisha Brandhorst

In loving memory of Alta Grace Murrin

sad poetry
99

About the Creator

Trisha Brandhorst

Iā€™m 41, happily married and have two boys& a step daughter. I love to write, spend time With family, travel & meet new people. I love animals. The beach is my favorite place in the world.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Arbab2 years ago

    Aww it's beautiful

  • Atomic Historian2 years ago

    I love it!

  • Thank you all so much for your love& support. Please feel free to read my other works as well. I'll be checking out each& every one of your sites as well. Thank you

  • I love that this tribute isn't married to one rhythm, but dedicated to the prose. Lovely poem! My heart goes out to you. ā¤

  • David Thomas2 years ago

    I am a poet also you should read some of my poems whenever you get the chance too.

  • David Thomas2 years ago

    Great poem and keep on writing.

  • malik zahoor2 years ago

    Beautiful poem

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Toby Heward2 years ago

    It was a very heartfelt poem. I lost my grandmother 2 years ago to cancer and she was very dear to me. I know she is in a better place now, so don't fret. She will always be able to help you along the long road that is life.

  • My grandmother passed when I was quite young, & I still have vivid memories of her even though we didn't have many years together. This is a beautiful tribute to your own. Thank you for sharing. Sending you warmth.

  • Beautifully written. Lost my grandpa about a year ago and this explains everything I feel.

  • Paul whiddon 2 years ago

    Beautiful poem. Love this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.