Poets logo

Searching for a true friend

Friend lessons in life

By Trisha Brandhorst Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Searching for a true friend
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

"Searching for a true friend."

I used to think that friends were friends forever never to part,
maybe in distance but never at heart,
who was I kidding in this world so cruel,
to think that someone would care back enough-
boy was I the fool,
to begin to trust someone enough
to even call them a friend,
only to find out they weren't
ever really one in the end,
no calls-no messages
no hi how are you,
no what's new-what's going on
why are you so blue,
why can't someone care back as
much as I do them,
Why must I always feel like
I am being condemned,
Just once my wish is for

sad poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Trisha Brandhorst

I’m 41, happily married and have two boys& a step daughter. I love to write, spend time With family, travel & meet new people. I love animals. The beach is my favorite place in the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.