Poets logo

The Lion and the Tightrope

Getting Back with Your Ex; A Metaphor

By Marisol LunaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Getting back with your ex

Is kind of like

Picking up a grenade

That didn't explode

And handing it back to

The person who pulled the pin.

Seems kind of ridiculous, right?

Why on earth would someone

Intentionally jump back into

The lion's den moments after

Scrambling up the fence

Bruised and bleeding, but free?

What if I told you

That the person jumping

Back in front of the claws

Believed the lion could be tamed

If only given a chance.

Or what if the person believed

That the dud grenade

Could be thrown into the air

And explode into fireworks?

These are the things

That dreamers believe in

And boy, is my head in the clouds.

People like me are

Much more concerned with things like

Happiness and redemption

Than silly things like

Being mauled or losing a limb or two.

We are the ones

Who will discover the beauty

Of watching someone grow

In front of our very eyes.

In fact, I've seen it.

I've watched a 16 year old boy

Grow into a 19 year old man.

I watched as he discovered

Parts of himself he liked

And parts that he didn't.

I've seen what happens

When you and the person

Who makes your heart

Try to escape its cage

Are on a tightrope in the clouds

And the only way down

Is to throw your balancing stick

Into the abyss

And try not to join it

Because by God

I'm not leaving without you.

You jump, I jump, remember?

You just have to hope

That they won't leave you dangling again

Waiting for the clouds

To swallow you whole.

Why would I submit myself

To this, you ask?

When I am so deathly afraid of falling?

You see, my dear

I love to fly.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Marisol Luna

I am a 19 year old criminal justice student in the state of Michigan. I am an avid poet and enjoy expressing my opinions on all sorts of platforms. If you're into Meyer Briggs, I'm an ENTP, so if you're looking for a debate I'm your girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.