Poets logo

The Line

A gender poem

By Elaine Ruth WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Line
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

After lengthy discussion

and fierce opposition

from Danny Reid

it was agreed:

a girl could be a blood brother.

Wiping his knife on the heather

Tom felt its keen with his thumb

then, sounding solemn,

said: ‘Give me your hand’

then he whispered: ‘It’ll only hurt for a second.’

We could have moved on

but for Danny

who kicked at the leaves on the forest floor

a thunderous stare

on his face, a murderous look.

Then he spoke

out of the blue:

‘We could rape you.’

Everything stopped:

heart, breath. Time crept

away and the air seemed to die.

We all seemed stunned - except Danny.

I should have knelt on his neck

and yelled, ‘What the fuck

do you know about anything.’

but I knew he was too strong,

that in a straight fight I’d be no match for him.

Next day when I called for Tom,

his mum said he was out.

From then on, he was never about.

I guess he thought I wasn’t that tough

after all, and hadn’t made the cut deep enough.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elaine Ruth White

Hi. I'm a writer who believes that nothing is wasted! My words have become poems, plays, short stories and novels. My favourite themes are mental health, art and scuba diving. You can follow me on www.words-like-music, Goodreads and Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.