Poets logo

The Light Half Past Twelve

Mental Health

By Yael SpodekPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

The light that glows only half past twelve keeps me going

My breath dwindles in blinking weakness, this glimmer is my savior

After a day of slamming fists and sulking heads from everyone including myself

And after a night of escaping reality, I crash into earth

But the world seems brighter half past twelve, when my angel illuminates the room

Until all is forgotten in this broken world, I wake up to the same story

Unfortunately, there's no escaping it because my life is the endless story

I run and I run, day after day, where am I going?

Nowhere. Because I'm running in my mind as I sit in my room

Until the light half past twelve soothes every sore in my body. How do I repay this savior?

I can't, I know. But if I could leave this earth

And find the light half past twelve, I could take it for myself

I don't mean to sound greedy, I wouldn't keep it to myself

I would expose my story

To the one's like me who would want to be anywhere but here, on this earth

I would share it with others who don't want to keep going

And the light half past twelve would become more than just my savior

And I could do more than just sit in my room

But for now, I'll light up my joint and sit in my room

Keeping everything inside and all to myself

Letting the light half past twelve be my savior

No one will know my story

No one will remember my name, everyone's lives keep going

While I search and search for the light to keep me on this earth

I get so high I'm no longer on planet earth

Wondering why I ever leave my room

My thoughts cloak my body in darkness, can I keep going?

It's half past twelve and there's no light, I pray to myself

Thinking maybe it's late, but maybe it's the end of my story

As the clock strikes one I see a light, but it's not my savior

Where is the light? Where is my light? Where is my savior?

But I know my light isn't coming, it's time to leave this earth

No one will know my story

I can't say goodbye, they'll just find me in my room

I don't know if they'll care, it's always been me and myself

Finally I can rest, I don't need to keep going

I take one last look at myself and around my room

I hope the one's like me find their savior and keep going

Neither story or name will be known, but on earth we remain the same

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.