Poets logo

Justice Seekers

Survivors

By Yael SpodekPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Justice Seekers
Photo by LOGAN WEAVER | @LGNWVR on Unsplash

Survivor:

A person who continues to function in spite of opposition, hardship, or setbacks.

Function - not prosper.

Survivors, though we don’t claim the label

More than victims, we do more than survive.

Survivors?

Not growers? learners? leaders? justice seekers?

anything but survivors.

We don't just function, but exceed all expectations.

"Survivors"

We aren't one collective; don't address us as if we are not individuals.

Separate stories, demons, ghosts.

One may flinch, one may cry, one may run, one may fight

Similar experiences bring us together, but listen to me. listen to her. listen to him. listen to them

Survivors.

Our label for ages;

One I no longer like

I am more than a survivor, I do more than just function.

I am more than a survivor, I do more than just survive.

Survivors:

Here to support and heal.

Here to teach and grow.

Here

Will you hear us?

Will you care?

By "hear" I don't mean listen.

Cry with us, mourn with us, grieve with us.

By "care" I don't mean an Instagram post.

Stick up for us, go to court with us, fight with us.

Survivors --

That silly little word that holds such power.

A word meant to bring triumph.

A word that cuts every scar deeper.

A word meant to show "care" and "togetherness."

A word that makes me more of an outcast.

i am not a survivor.

Although I have also survived.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.