Poets logo

Change

Bipolar

By Yael SpodekPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Change
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

my one consistency in life was change.

an abrupt euphoria but,

like an electric shock surged through

my body.

overwhelming sadness that

thickened the air and tightened

my throat.

like an irrational anxiety over

a misplaced towel drowned

my mind.

an erratic impulse

shredded my trust and battered

my love.

my fear outweighed the right decision,

when change and chaos were comfort

left cheek turned on the right decision.

fear overtook me like a possessor

all my logic went out the door,

consequences were no longer in sight.

my one consistency in life was change;

funny how comfort can kill.

the right decision was overlooked as

i strolled through the dimly lit, midnight street.

you dreaming soundly of

the day of white and pink and blue

not knowing black would unfold onto you.

no thought to the effect i was causing

no thought to the reactions of my actions.

still,

consistent change created comfortability

like,

waking up as a child in your parents bed

or,

laying embraced with the one you love

but,

it wasn't worth the chase

wasn't worth the hunt

wasn't worth the destruction

of the glass city smashed to the ground in a single step.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.