Poets logo

The Laughter of a Call Girl

A Poem

By Muhammad Nasrullah KhanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
The Laughter of a Call Girl
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Walking along the town street,

hand in hand with loneliness.

The moon flashed through leaves and highlighted a call girl

standing hipshot at a bus stop.

*

Her beauty touted open desire,

I smiled and sidled her,

"I want to write a poem about you,

You, the wild girl of the city."

*

Transfixed by a pale orb,

she spoke these haunting words.

"My existence is amber.

Poems can't express my being.

It is a dark void I swim in.

My soul resides in a dark place.

My skies are tainted black.

There are no rainbows.

*

My skin is a neon welcome sign;

It flashes artificial yellow, green then blue.

an invitation for rough hands

and dirty words to follow me.

I am the sidewalk beneath trampling feet,

crunching and cracking under their weight.

My life exists between legs –

a delicate meat.

The hungry vultures circle above

with sharp beaks and talons to tear

what’s left of me.

*

This suffocating city, these thousands of people

can’t see with eyes washed clean.

Walking over skeletons with hardened hearts,

their eyes burrow through my clothing,

imagining their filthy pleasures.

They come to get me,

pushing me into shadows

where they all belong–

lifeless, still, dead and empty.

Oh, these wooing slaves, pretending to be masters!"

*

She paused as if to say more, but her bus pulled in.

Apologizing, she shook her head,

"I can't miss the bus for a poet."

Yet, one favor she left me.

Before leaving,

she looked back, and guffawed.

The piano jangled away at the nearby bar.

*

Her laughter now wanders with me in the streets,

full of fears, mockery, blame, guilt and questions.

“Oh you city of 'civilized' people,

wear a brave face and don't hide from the cracks.

social commentary

About the Creator

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan

Muhammad Nasrullah Khan is a Pakistani-Canadian writer. His short stories are well-recognized internationally , His work has appeared in Adbusters, Evergreen review, Indiana Voice Journal, Newtopia Magazine, and many others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Amazing job on portraying how sad her life is

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding!!!💖💕

  • Very honest and touching.

Muhammad Nasrullah KhanWritten by Muhammad Nasrullah Khan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.