Poets logo

The Last Day of August

I miss you, Donna...

By Teresa PowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
My beautiful cousin, Donna

The last day of August now holds such pain and despair. It used to mean the end of the Summer and carefree air.

The last day of August used to mean the joy of making another year. Now it’s just a reminder that you’re no longer here.

God did you have to take away my cousin, my sister, my friend. She thought she’d be here until the end.

She wanted St. Lucia and a carefree life, not to leave us tormented and in strife!

So young you left your sister half, your daughter and grandbaby…

But because of your love you’ve left us all stronger and fearless, and that’s no maybe.

Donna, our love, our light and glory, one day we’ll be together again and continue our story…

All my love forever…Resa

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Teresa Powe

I've been sports blogging since 2016. This is my first foray into another genre. I never thought I could be so happy just sitting at my desk and letting my imagination do the work. I hope you enjoy my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.