Poets logo

The Journey

A Poem

By Nailah RobinsonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Journey
Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

I was never the girl to drink the Kool Aid

It never looked that sweet

Don't worry, I'll hold your hand

Keep your eyes always on me

I'll lead the way

Through this maze of a life

You seem to know the way though

As you pull me in so tight

Under the dark hue of the moon

We howl through the night

It feels unsafe sometimes

But I can't walk away, try as I might

I'm drawn to you

Like a string on a yo yo

You yank me back before I hit the ground

And you never let me go

Where did you come from

I was walking this path alone

There was a person meant for me

A place I could call home

It was never about the altar

It was about everything that comes after

I have jumped without a plan

Into a life full of laughter

You know me, my love

I'm you

We move to our own beat

And you never drank the Kool Aid too

This is no fairy tale

And that is for sure

I'm all heart though, my love

And I'm all yours

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.