Poets logo

The Jessica Rule

All for the niece...

By Kendall Defoe Published 10 months ago 1 min read
13
The Jessica Rule
Photo by Dariusz Sankowski on Unsplash

Twisting my arm,

I say ''Uncle!''

And think carefully...

*

What did I do?

Climbed a set of mountains;

walked endlessly

on an island, single

yet happily.

*

Spoke several languages

(on the tongue; in the body),

often quite fluently.

*

Made friends, morphed enemies,

felt several pains and joy.

Earned something regal for the family

to put up on a wall

(not too recently).

*

All said and all done

(nothing stated in vain?).

All those memories and

pages taken out of thoughts,

pictures, reels, and scribbles

(a portrait of me).

*

And I would rather face this all

(be in that old life)

once again

than to spark your sadness

and lose that love

(that greatness I can be).

And all trips have their conclusions...

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

sad poetrynature poetrylove poemslistfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Test10 months ago

    I dig this.

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    Heart wrenchingly good and so beautiful!

  • Those necessary reassurances that I am yours & you are mine & there is nothing for which I would trade you.

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    Lovely poem, Kendall!! I really enjoyed this!!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved it!!!

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    Quite an ode to the lucky niece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.