Poets logo

The Ink from the Pen

When Words Flow Naturally

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
The Ink from the Pen
Photo by Nicolas Thomas on Unsplash

It doesn’t take much for me to write out a line

It flows through my blood and out of my mind

It inks up my pen and I type up the rhyme

Then, it leaves my many thoughts

and I’m able to unwind

With all the chaos that spurts

out of the TV

It’s hard not to worry

It’s difficult not to see

The pain and the challenges of those all around

I do what I can

to turn their negativity around

And I know I’m not always in control

so therefore I pray

I can’t just sit and look

without having something to say

but I try to be polite

because I think it takes time for growth

and just because one person’s there

doesn’t mean another isn’t just trying to stay afloat

performance poetry
16

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.