Poets logo

The Illusions

Happy And Forever

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
The Illusions
Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

I smoke fairytales like it's Mary jane

it gives the exact same illusions

Stick that needle into a vein

escaping love and all its confusion

A naive dreamer of make believe

happily, ever after, and such

I apologize to myself for deceiving

and using it's lie, for a crutch

A dreamer in dreams directed by Grimm

and the shadows that call in the night

My chances at true love, are narrow to slim

there is no such thing as: Mr. Right

Still, I get caught up in all of the romance

the side glances and sparkly smiles

The very ones that Disney would finance

with white teeth, from an old crocodile

With promise of a safe and dry passage

until we float away, just out of sight

Then the truth comes out, in time to ravage

and brings love and its illusions, to light

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fantastic lines!!! Love the rhyme!!! ♥️♥️💕

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh wow. Fantastic.

  • There weren't a whole lot of "Happily Ever Afters" in the Brothers Grimm. But Disney sure made us believe there were. True love takes a lot of work. That having been said, I, too, absolutely loved that first line. Ah heck, I loved the whole thing, disappointments & all. (Okay, I more resonated with the disappointments & disillusion.)

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    You really need to consider an anthology, Kelli!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    This is CAPTIVATING, Kelli! That first line is 🔥 "I smoke fairytales like it's Mary Jane". This is brilliant!

  • Excellently written ❤️💯📝😜and I Greatly appreciated this Piece by you💯‼️

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.