Poets logo

The Humanity Series: Pt. 1

Feelings on the subject of Humans & Humanity

By Lizzy RosePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Humanity Series: Pt. 1
Photo by Edgar Perez on Unsplash

I cannot help but constantly pick myself apart

as I live in a world such as this.

A world in which basic kindness is as dead

as the children you claim to worry about saving.

I was one of those children that needed saving, damn it!

Not from the "cruel fate" of abortion,

oh mighty angels of mercy!

Congratulations! My hero!

You saved me from the fires of Hell,

and thrust me into your own furnaces!

This "life" we as humans claim to live,

is in no way a life!

You've established a life for yourselves,

built a paradise for yourselves,

and locked millions on the outside of the gates!

Imagine a button, of which in the act of pressing this button

you get to live.

You'd get everything you need to survive,

you know- the things we should be allowing all people to have anyway??

You'd get everything you need to survive,

and then you'd be able to just live.

If you wanted to paint a picture,

you wouldn't have to give up the 3 hours and $30 you need

to scrape by on your thousand dollar rent another month!

Or 2 of the 5 hours of sleep you get in between working your 2 jobs

while your doctor paints a pretty smile on their face

and "gently" reminds you that the recommended amount of sleep

is closer to ten!

Ten hours of sleep?! That vital part of living??

That's nearly half the day, how dare you waste so much time?!

The concept of a starving musician? Out the window,

because people should be allowed to make music

without hoping they get big enough to survive off it.

People shouldn't have to make an appointment

to see a friend,

to run in a field,

to celebrate themselves and this life

that you want to punish another person to give them!

People should not have to die so that people can live.

People should not have to avoid living so that they don't die.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.