Poets logo

The Homeless Musician

A nuanced poem

By Paige HermionePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Homeless Musician
Photo by Eilis Garvey on Unsplash

To my lover, sweet and invigorating,

I feel your warmth like a blanket,

I smell your scent, sharp and intoxicating,

That wicked scent, my favourite,

I sit on the sidewalk, patient and waiting

Until I feel your sweet effect,

Drowsy is my mind, you are captivating,

Lover, you’re unfortunate,

For my keys are broken and isolating,

But, just to you, I forfeit,

For without you, the world is devastating,

Your rhythm keeps me liquid,

Your music keys crescendo and creating

A sweetened world I can’t dread,

My blood runs deep for you, my heart pulsating,

This love I’ve always hunted,

Your taste is ripe, rose tinted glasses shaping

How this world is presented,

The memories of my past, dominating,

But, you will keep them quiet,

My failures haunt me, never hesitating,

That drafted song, so arid,

It’s constant. That’s why you are liberating,

With you I am exquisite,

And to those memories, excruciating,

You will not have my defeat,

For my lover’s music is fabricating,

And she keeps you a secret.

love poemssurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paige Hermione

"You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paige Hermione (Author)2 years ago

    I tried to get in the mind of a failed musician who's turned to alcohol. It's very vague but I think that's the beauty of it. His lover is his wine.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.