Poets logo

The Holey Bible

A #BookReviewHaiku

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
13
Randome Image from The Web

This is from an unofficial challenge from Judey Kalchik that you can read more of here in her book review Haiku.

My title is deliberate. Music is "Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life" from "Life Of Brian" which is sort of relevant.

✝️☦️📖☦️✝️

A Work Of Fiction

Slavery, Rape And Murder

Something For Us All

✝️☦️📖☦️✝️

performance poetrysurreal poetryslam poetry
13

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery9 months ago

    Nicely done Mike. See you in hell. (hahaha)

  • Deasun T. Smyth9 months ago

    The Bible is far from fiction!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Oh you have guts calling it fiction, though I agree. I do not believe it was written to be taken literally, and some historians confirm it wasn’t. Love that last line, “Something for everyone.” 😆

  • Monty Python's "Life of Brian"! The movie came out when I was in college. My best friend had a copy of the script & we read through it together, enjoying every bit of it. Because of the response & protest of ignorant right-wing Christians who thought it heretical (even though it's clear throughout it's a case of mistaken identity--which, considering the number of people at the time claiming to be the Messiah at the time & ever since, seems quite historically apt), I didn't get to see it until decades later when it finally came out on disc. Still one of my favorites.

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    And that's why the world is the way it is. We're taught to follow the bible, and so people do.

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    It's basically a hodge-podge of chonicle, myth, hymn, and law-book, compiled in the ghettos of Babylonia. Love this, Mike, great statement.

  • Julia Schulz9 months ago

    Mike, I am a believer in Jesus and have struggled with Scripture passages. I think I've come to believe the Bible was written by many through the lens of ancient cultures but ultimately points to Christ and unconditional love and grace. The more I study it, the more I see themes, connections, word play, and humor even if I think the Creation stories are allegories, ancient kings tended to exaggerate their exploits, etc.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    its good

  • Whoaaaa, I wish I had guts like you! I received a lof of backlash for my story The Bible is a Hoax as I posted them in non-Vocal groups as well. But we never know from where these people come from so be prepared. I loved your Haiku!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Mike, three lines that spoke volumes.

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Oh dear Mike. I am glad you are sturdier than I. This could bring quite a few bombastic comments. Reviews, tho, are subjective and do encourage healthy discussion, frequently polarizing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.