Poets logo

The Heartbreak

Welcome to The Heartbreak

By Nyesha MoniquePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Heartbreak
Photo by Rob Laughter on Unsplash

I hear the round of applause as the curtain close, Walking away from the stage, I take off my tears and dread, I go to my dressing room to refresh my sorrow,

This song and dance has drained me, I’m trying to pull away, but this part breaks me every time, Even though I know what happens next, I always act surprised when the tears fall,

It is as if I want this to happen, I get my hopes high just to be dropped off the cliff, This relationship is like a contract I can’t get out of, And all the terms bound me to you,

It’s curtain call once again, I make up my pain and dress up my despair, Preparing my heart for the show, Welcome to The Heartbreak.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Nyesha Monique

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.