Poets logo

The Heart on My Sleeve

A Poem About Blocked Emotions

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
The Heart on My Sleeve
Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

The heart I wear on my sleeve is fake

Tattooed on long ago

When I forgot how to check my emotions

For each experience, each setting, each person;

It’s all too exhausting to keep track of

Day after day

Year after year—

Which are my emotions, which are yours,

A reflection I am forced to feed back to you

Just so I can fit in

In public

To society

With you;

I am too tired to maintain this charade

Hiding my emotions deep down

Putting on a mask for the show;

I yearn for a real connection

Real emotion

Real me—

But who am I

Really?

sad poetry

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    I feel this poem to my deepest soul. Your questions are so universal, so many lost souls we are. Yet we rise each day to the challenge of being a brighter hopeful us.

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    This was not what I expected from the title, so much more, nice work.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    The ‘Heart’ of the matter begins with us. Do we always hide these emotions because we fear hurting others? Or is it because the mask isn’t ready to come off? Great poem. It makes me think about so many times I wasn’t myself. Hope all is well!

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    I love this one, Stephanie 😩😩❤️❤️ it’s an exhausting charade

  • This was so relatable and poignant! Loved your poem!

Stephanie HoogstadWritten by Stephanie Hoogstad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.