Poets logo

The Haunting

A song/poem/thing/whatever.

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
23
The Haunting
Photo by Mathew MacQuarrie on Unsplash

It's a burden to carry your soul on your shoulders,

Whispering softly, it creeps back inside.

It's a burden to carry your soul on your shoulders,

Whispering softly, it eats you alive.

-

From the inside out, I hear you screaming.

From the inside out, how much more can you take?

From the outside in, I see you bleeding.

From the outside in, keep the demons at bay.

-

One more word, and I promise, I'll leave you.

Tell me the truth through the grin of your lies.

One more look, I'll admit that it's me too.

Read me the gospel; an unwelcome surprise.

-

From the inside out, I hear you screaming.

From the inside out, how much more can you take?

From the outside in, I see you bleeding.

From the outside in, keep the demons at bay.

-

Tiptoeing through paragraphs of ghostly figures, haunting the halls.

Wondering how one traverses through this room without devouring it all.

Echoes through the chamber, mocking snidely, they're recounting your sins.

Keeping track of every failure; breaking, carving from the marble within.

-

From the inside out, I hear you screaming.

From the inside out, how much more can you take?

From the outside in, I see you bleeding.

From the outside in, keep the demons at bay.

---

I 'wrote' this while driving back from the store this evening. I forgot my phone at home and there are no local radio stations that suit my fancy, so I started improvising my own song. This was the result. I kept repeating everything so I could write it all down by the time I got home. It's weird, and not like what I usually write, but felt like experimenting. Hoping to put it to music eventually, maybe, someday. For now, it's just a repetitive poem.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetry
23

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    Interesting, haunting, and a little creepy (in the good way). A song sung by a scary presence as you try to get away...πŸ’™Anneliese

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is great the repetition works brilliant. Well done.

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Oh woah, the story behind how you wrote this is great! I may just give that a go myself! Brilliant work! So heartfelt!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is captivatingly excellent Ashley

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    That is actually very good, and an impressive accomplishment with that technique. In fact, that's how oral poetry was composed/memorized/and transmitted in all cultures before the invention of writing. The Illiad and Odyssey attributed to Homer are thought to have been in reality collectively composed by bards and memorized in chunks. As for the content, I feel the literary/horror aspect bleeding into the depressive side of what you seem to be going through, it's a creep under your skin, deep and sad kind of piece, and I really love what you've done with it. Sounds like a song already.

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    I never tried song lyrics and probably never will. Three cheers to you for successfully writing one.

  • Bozhan Bozhkov8 months ago

    This shows how inconveniences stimulate our creativity. But does this mean that in order to be creative, we should always feel uncomfortable?

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautifully written and would be awesome with music for sure! I would love to hear it! 🀍

  • Forgot your phone at home? Nothing on the radio suits your fancy? No worries when you have Ashley! Yes, she can come up with a song in just mere minutes! And the best part is that you can add your own tune to it and sing along. Hurry and get your own Ashley now! Call 05 055 0555 now to order! Jokes aside, this was so raw, poignant and beautiful. I actually sang it to my own tune! Hope we get to listen to it once you add music!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    That rhythm is WORKING. I love it! A dark subject, but certainly would be a good song.

  • I am such a fan of this repetition βœ¨πŸ‘Œ I smiled as soon as I recognised it… it works very very well! πŸ‘‘πŸ’œβœ¨

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    I'm glad you added context at the end of your poem, because the piece feels like a song. It would work well with music!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    What a cool experiment! You were destined to leave your phone at home. Love the darkness - a great job! β˜ΊοΈπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    This is great. I love it, Ash.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Fantastic! Very dark and wonderful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.