Poets logo

The Haiku Shack Podcast - ‘Monna Innominata’ by Christina Rossetti

Episode 18

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
9

The Haiku Shack is dedicated to inspiration and poetry. Host Cendrine Marrouat reads her own poems and those from her favorite poets.

In today's episode, I read Christina Rossetti's "Monna Innominata [I wish I could remember]".

Background music: Piano Sonata No. 38 in F major, Hob.XVI:23 (Joseph Haydn) by Ivan Ilić - Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license via Wikimedia Commons

Monna Innominata [I wish I could remember] - Christina Rossetti

I wish I could remember that first day,

First hour, first moment of your meeting me,

If bright or dim the season, it might be

Summer or Winter for aught I can say;

So unrecorded did it slip away,

So blind was I to see and to foresee,

So dull to mark the budding of my tree

That would not blossom for many a May.

If only I could recollect it, such

A day of days! I let it come and go

As traceless as a thaw of bygone snow;

It seemed to mean so little, meant so much;

If only now I could recall that touch,

First touch of hand in hand – Did one but know!

Source: Wikisource

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

----------

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

love poemsperformance poetryinspirational
9

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Very refreshing...Really enjoyed this!

  • I could listen to you reciting your poetry for hours!!! I have recently found that Spotify has a spoken word community…. Please publish to there ! It may be a slow start (perhaps not also!) but I strongly believe you will have a strong following in time. This was truly beautiful. And yes, part of that is because you have this stunning French accent - but that is not why it is interesting. Your tone, your timing, your poetry, your music choice… it’s art. And it’s beautiful art ❤️🕊️✨

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Love this, Cendrine! You read poetry like a master, not stopping until each phrase has ended. So glad you took your time with it. I can't listen to poetry read aloud unless it is done like THIS. Fantastic, as always. You are such an inspiration, and I hope to see more podcasts in the future (I know I will!). 💖👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    I was gonna make a “pardon my French” joke and use lots of profanity, but I’ll keep it classy. Just know I @&$!*%# love this. 😍

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    that was a beautiful reading, and i love the background piece, great choice. and a great poem as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.