Poets logo

The Gulls

An abecedarian poem

By Ava MackPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Abecedarian Challenge
39
Photographer Unknown

All along the shallow bay, a crescently shaped

boomerang, stones

cobble with algae ribbons & shells

dot the drying sand, marking edge &

ebb. Detaching their wings

from the white-gray sky & appearing at the falling tide

gulls circle this graveyard of miniature

headstones, small as children's,

inscriptions smoothed to blankness by the sea

just as earthly graves are made anonymous by rain. I tread carefully,

knowing this. Knowing this &

laughing their

metallic laugh, the trilling gulls could not care less.

Nothing is held sacredly in this hierarchy, in this

oceanic

purgatory.

Quahogs are made for eating, not for

reverence, I hear them taunting me, they

squawk at me & gawk at me, my eyes turned downward

toward the tombstones lying plotlessly & jumbled on the

umber sand.

Vicious and vengeful the

white angels circle, crying war while their atomic yellow

x-ray eyes see all. They do the necessary

yeoman's work and leave the theoretical

zealotry to me.

Free Versenature poetry
39

About the Creator

Ava Mack

Poetry and little thoughts

Boston, MA

https://www.instagram.com/avamariemack/

https://www.instagram.com/ava.booked/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    This was a stunning read. Brilliant interplay between the speaker and the birds, “Nothing is held sacredly in this hierarchy, in this oceanic purgatory.” is a wonderful line, and illustrates the truth of life at sea. Amazing! 👏🏾

  • Tracy Kreuzburg 3 months ago

    I loved the linking of the beach stones to tombstones. Beautiful.

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Back again to say congrats!! Very well deserved!

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    Incredible work! Such awesome imagery and beautiful turns of phrase...Congrats on the recognition!!

  • Gargie S Anand4 months ago

    This is wonderful!

  • Test4 months ago

    Well-deserved congratulations for your work—keep it up!

  • Congrats on the Top Story! Well-deserved. This was a beautiful poem.

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story? I have always wondered if there is a Bottom Story, lol!

  • This is beautifully written about a favourite place of mine… “ cobble with algae ribbons & shells dot the drying sand, marking edge & ebb.” I love the beauty of the beach.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    This is gorgeous, well done!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Well...my abecedarians officially suck. Thanks Ava...hahaha! Seriously, though...this is stunning. I loved the thoughts about gulls and like Rachel...I often think of their "metallic laugh" as you so perfectly called it. Wonderful work and congrats on a fine Top Story! Glad Stephen highlighted it...cos I saw it come up on my notifications but then old man brain forgot about it!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I think this might be the best abecedarian I've read so far for this challenge. It was really evocative. I often think about the gulls and their noises as they reel about above you, sort of mocking or taunting. This really resonated for me. I felt sorry for clams. That takes some doing.

  • Ashley Lima4 months ago

    this poem reminds me of home. really well done!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Brilliant work here...!

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Amazing. Congratulations on your top story.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Just when I think that I have read them all, this gem falls into Too Story and gives one more fascinating poem to read. Congratulations

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is so gorgeous - congratulations on Top Story!! 💕

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Wow loved this

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Your word choice in this is a work of art! Loved it!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Fabulous insight and imagery. 🥰

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    This is so amazing, Ava. A meditation on life's sacredness...via clam shells on the beach. So beautiful, sad, even slightly cynical. The speaker's self-awareness here is my favorite part. If I quoted my favored lines, I think it would end up being the entire poem. Well done on this entry! I do hope it places. (Internally, I am echoing Stephen 100%.)

  • Came for the subject, stayed for the imagery. The enjambment with "oceanic purgatory" Plus the alliteration with "Vicious and vengeful" and all the imagery really sold this one for me. Superb execution. I hope it places. And if mine makes it in but yours doesn't, I'm rioting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.