Poets logo

The Ground She Walks On

Words have power.

By Jean McKinneyPublished 28 days ago 1 min read
5
Image: Eva Michalkova via Pixabay

I worship you, he said.

He said,

I’ll lock this door

And draw those curtains closed

And cut that phone line

To keep you safe from the world.

For after all this is what

We do with women.

We worship them like saints

Keep them like precious things

Protect them from temptations

And hungry eyes and the wrong kind of dreams.

See: I do it all for you,

He said.

She said, flexing her feet of clay,

Worship me then.

Worship me in the way they did

In the time before saints

When we were goddesses and witches and queens.

Worship me with blood

With heart’s blood poured out on the sand

And every pulse a song of my name.

Worship me, she said.

She said,

Say a prayer now, this minute.

And she flexed her fingers of clay

Around the trigger.

Behind the Scenes: For several years I was a crisis counselor in domestic violence programs, helping women and their children escape toxic, abusive relationships. We often called upon the archetypes of powerful women and goddesses to help them recognize their own power and worth.

CONTENT WARNINGsurreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Jean McKinney

Writer and artist reporting back from the places where the mundane meets the magical, with new stories and poems every week. Creator of the fantasy worlds of the Moon Road and Sorrows Hill. Learn more and get a free story at my LinkTree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • D. J. Reddall28 days ago

    There is antique power in this poem.

  • angela hepworth28 days ago

    Stunning and so meaningful & powerful to read as a woman!

  • Andrea Corwin 28 days ago

    Holy crapola! the ending startled me but that is good. Keep doing these so victims can become warriors. ❣️

  • Love it. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.