Poets logo

Little Nights

Some nights are like that.

By Jean McKinneyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
2
Image Credit: Matuska via Pixabay

Don’t dance with me.

This is lovers’ music.

And tonight

My heart’s just a half size too small for you.

Those old smiles and sideways words are falling far away.

This is a little night

Full of smalls and shorts and marks just missed.

Eyes brush past eyes.

Promises lie like pebbles

In the water rings on the bar.

And we’re still pint sized souls

Crab walking through the sawdust on this empty floor.

Tonight my smile’s in a bottle.

While this song laps around my ears,

I’ll curl myself around a cold chrome stool,

Let white neon fill up my head,

Remember other times than these.

The whisky still has a taste

And my legs have bones

So you can fold that act up into all your shadows

And take it on down the road.

Behind the Scenes: This poem is one of several published in Saturday Afternoon, an annual anthology of Southern California writers. It's inspired by many late nights writing in the beachside cafes of Venice and Santa Monica.

surreal poetryFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Jean McKinney

Writer and artist reporting back from the places where the mundane meets the magical, with new stories and poems every week. Creator of the fantasy worlds of the Moon Road and Sorrows Hill. Learn more and get a free story at my LinkTree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Gorgeous and scenic — amazing work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.