Poets logo

The Grey Thief

A poem about loving someone who struggles with substance abuse.

By The RosePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

A scared and lonely boy sits here before me,

inexplicably broken in parts that should be whole,

embraced by the hazy grey thief who clouds the room,

unaware of the future that she stole.

I dream to heal him, fix him, take him,

into my arms and hold him as he cries.

But she has stolen his past, his future, our future,

as she curls from his lips and settles dull behind his eyes.

And nothing I can do will ever sway him.

She has been there for him like I never will.

She makes sure that she's the only one to hold him.

She dulls his senses so that he can never feel.

She curls around him, lovingly embracing,

isolating him from me, himself, the world.

She will always be his main and leading lady.

I will never reach the deep, protected pearl.

And he doesn't even realize what she's taken,

innocence, love, connection and the rest.

And I've tried to show him beauty within his reach,

but she's blinded him from even his own best.

It's sad, it really pains me to acknowledge,

that I have to leave him here and walk away.

Because I made a promise to myself, I cannot break it,

I have to live to fight another day.

I cannot let her take the part of me,

that cares so much for others. Even though I go,

he doesn't see the ways I want to love him.

The boy I love, but can never really know.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

The Rose

I have been writing poetry since a very young age. I don't usually share, but I thought I would get some of it out into the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.