Poets logo

Insomnia

For those losing sleep with the world on your mind.

By The RosePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Six am Sunday morning,

another sleepless night.

I sit outside in the cool, still air,

to greet the morning light.

I haven't been our dancing,

in fact, I've been in bed.

But sleep decided not to soothe,

the swirling in my head.

I've lost the battle once again,

surrendered to the day.

In a moment I'll go in,

to face what comes my way.

I feel vaguely drained, but wide awake.

My morning will be fine.

I'll struggle through the afternoon,

and go to bed at nine.

And nine will come, with heavy eyes,

I'll stumble into bed.

But then my brain will come alive,

just as I rest my head.

I'll tell myself a thousand times,

"You need to go to sleep",

But my mind will conjure random rhymes,

instead of counting sheep.

I'll pour over details of my day,

and days that came before.

I'll obsess about my future,

for an hour, two, three, four...

I'll maybe even doze a bit.

I'll toss, I'll turn and then,

I'll be out here on the balcony,

to greet the sun again.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

The Rose

I have been writing poetry since a very young age. I don't usually share, but I thought I would get some of it out into the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.