Poets logo

The Greatest Lesson

Taught to me by my beautiful inner child

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
8
Image courtesy of Pixabay

My life lessons have been made up of a series of mistakes

It’s the hardest, quickest way to learn, I’m sure you’ll agree,

And I’ve no doubt that the rest of my life will see many more

Mistakes, errors that will surely teach me all I need for free.

***

My heart betrays me when I need it most, it’s a bloody mess

But my intentions are always the best, as is my messy heart,

It usually starts off well, things go my way, it’s as it should be

Then there comes a point and suddenly it starts to fall apart.

***

I find I’m digging my own grave, I put my foot in my mouth

I work diligently to dig myself an escape route, only to find,

I’ve dug myself another grave to bury myself in once again

And I wonder if it’s best to give up, is this my universal sign?

***

It’s at times like this that I feel it is time to surrender, let it go

I decide to cruise in life’s direction, give up, go with the flow,

But then my heart will once more get involved, start beating

And I know it’s time to hold on tight, take life’s beating just so.

***

I’m sure at times I can hear the universe whispering in my ear

“I’m going to turn your world upside down, fuck you up badly,

Torment and torture you, give you hope and take it away again

But still leave you breathing, in agony, pain, tearfully sadly.”

***

Each time I come out the other side again, holding on furiously

Firmly believing that the pain and heartbreak will be worth it,

Surely I wouldn’t be given anything I was not able to handle

And there are lessons to learn in every agonising grave pit.

***

It’s during these lessons that I remember my time as a child

A youngster that was full of happiness, awe inspiring dreams,

And I realise that my inner child, my princess girl full of love

Is still there, buried within my soul, full of laughter and screams.

***

That beautiful girl who would look up at the lightening skies

Imagine herself with wings, flying through the stormy clouds,

Harnessing the brutal wind to do her bidding as demanded

It’s destructiveness and forcefulness, but only if she allowed.

***

It’s during this personal tragedy that I began to slowly realise

That my inner child was full of her own wisdom, as I hear,

“You are never too old to dream, here let me show you how

The world is your oyster and you really have nothing to fear.”

***

And so it is that I learnt my greatest and wisest lesson yet

I learnt to stop and listen to that precious inner child of mine,

As she tells me, “breathe in love, courage and hopefulness

As you breathe out chaos, torment, heartbreak and malign.”

*******************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderful & powerful, it is inspirational!!!💖😊💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is incredible. Well done.

  • This was very relatable as well as inspirational

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.