Poets logo

The Golden Cage

I was not born here, this place of bright lights and noise, this bustling place whose floors come alive...

By W i n d ō NYCPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Chris Fuller on Unsplash | Edited by JLD

I was not born here,

This place of bright lights and noise

This bustling place whose floors come alive.

I was born in a place of dirt and silence,

A place with breathable air and warm sun.

This place was not made for me and I was not made for it.

We both repel and reject each other naturally.

I, a shy bird, caged in a golden cage

I can’t sing to my favorite song,

I can’t visit familiar skies.

I’ve adapted to your language.

Molded to your shape.

Laughed at your jokes.

Sang to your favorite songs.

Forgetting in the process, all that makes me.

I look through these bars,

To see my sky calling my name

Tearing up at the sight.

When did I become trapped this way?

We migrated to better airs

We migrated to better sights

We migrated to greener grass

We migrated to safer lands

Only to realize we were fine before.

Trapped in this golden cage

Plentiful of food and riches

Comfort and hospitality

But missing one thing

Our freedom…

- JLD

social commentary
1

About the Creator

W i n d ō NYC

Look░Through░The░W i n d ō░into░the░Heart░ of░The░Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.