Poets logo

The Gnome

A backyard poem

By Shannon MoldenhauerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Sprouting up around my home

A garden with a cheeky gnome

A trickster smile, I stop a while

And think about the days gone by

Life's been hard

But when I'm sitting in my yard

The pain floats into the sky

Twirling leaves and lifting birds

Thoughts expel, I have no words

The gnome looks up into the sky

He seems to laugh until he cries

He stands in shade of dill and mint

He never stops to think

For what it was, is not now, and what is now has already gone by

It changes the moment it enters your eye

A color of perspective washes

A connection to the past brings caution

Then it's already on to the next

And the wise old gnome giggles from his chest

A gypsy girl read my cards yesterday

They told of changing paths and uneasiness

I didn't know if I should take it to heart

This moment is different from the start

She told me tales of future pain and

I wondered if the gnome would make it all change

Because things were different from then on

A shade of difference in the colors that ruled my world

I asked him if the world had changed

He giggled in silence and it began to rain

Washing over the puddles of my fears

Down went the gnome forever in good cheer

I began to smile with muscles I'd lost

And the moment slipped into the evening frost

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Shannon Moldenhauer

A Canadian artist, mama, and nature enthusiast.

Follow me on Instagram or Facebook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.