Poets logo

The Glass Ceiling

Shattered.

By Jessie WaddellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
12
Photo by Şahin Sezer Dinçer on Pexels

When the sun hits,

As if on queue,

The glass ceiling reflects,

The most unusual hue.

-

I stare at the cracks,

Each formed by my hand,

Its integrity flawed,

No more to withstand.

-

It seems such a shame,

That it needs to shatter,

The prerequisite to mark,

A woman that matters.

-

What seemed like an obstacle,

Now more like shelter,

Once broken through,

No more the protector.

-

Hammer in hand,

It trembles and shakes,

One more swing,

And I’ve sealed my fate.

-

You did it, now go,

Enjoy your success.

It’s not what I thought,

I start to confess.

-

Potential, they said.

That’s what you’ve got,

Go forth and be great,

Lest you should rot.

-

You were destined for more,

Your fire burns red,

How funny, my flame,

Appears to be dead.

-

Power and title,

Money and possession,

Key contributors,

In life’s great lesson.

-

The ceiling you broke,

Can’t be repaired,

Exposing you now,

Vulnerable, unprepared.

-

The pressure’s too much,

It’s dousing the flame,

Drowning my spirit,

In thick heavy rain.

-

What if success,

Isn’t what they say?

The lies that we’re told,

Beginning to fray.

-

If I walk my own path,

Do I still matter?

No hammer to swing,

No ceiling to shatter.

-

What if my profession,

Is just to create?

No suit, phone or briefcase,

Just hope and blind faith.

-

What if potential,

To me means different,

What if success,

Is not title dependant.

-

I removed my own barrier,

Tore down my wall,

Shattered that ceiling,

And now, I stand tall.

-

A brand new day,

And brand new dawn,

Obstacles of the past,

Now shattered and gone.

-

As light reflects prisms,

Of colour in spectrum,

I catch my first glimpse,

Of my brand new reflection...

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.