Poets logo

The Beast & Me

Anxiety in contrast.

By Jessie WaddellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
15
Image by Pelipoer Lara on Pexels

Black.

And so, so heavy.

I’m tired of carrying you around.

Your weight on my shoulders,

It’s crushing me.

-

I need to stop, hide, slow down.

I can’t face them today.

I don’t have the energy.

You’ve sucked the life right out of me.

You were hungry and I fed you,

That was my first mistake.

-

Today you feel much stronger,

I’m prepared to lose this fight.

Just a rest, a little respite,

That’s all I need.

I’m not hiding, I swear,

I promise I’ll do the next thing.

-

Don’t touch me. Don’t speak,

Isolation, the only cure.

Avoidance of reality.

Not so “high-functioning” now,

Are we?

-

Never truly alone.

The beast lives on my back,

Dictating where I go.

I must regain control.

-

Tomorrow is a new day.

Starve it, weaken it.

Still it lingers,

Black and sticky like tar.

Always just a few steps behind me.

-

Today I can breathe.

The burden not as heavy as it was.

I approach that which I would rather avoid.

I feel braver, stronger.

-

But I feel you still,

Ever present, watching, waiting.

Starving. Begging me to feed you.

Picking up the scraps I carelessly drop,

Until the day, I give you a meal.

-

And there you are again,

Forever the beast & me.

The weight on my back.

The inescapable black.

surreal poetry
15

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.