Poets logo

The Girl With The 3rd Eye

360 View

By C. H. RichardPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
59
The Girl With The 3rd Eye
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

I woke that morning

In a daze

Something was off

The world just a maze

**********************************************************************

Difficult to get out of bed

I stumbled across the floor

Hitting my head

On the mirror

Hanging on the bathroom door

**********************************************************************

I looked to see my image

Sheer terror struck

What was in that wine?

Was it vintage?

I tried to duck

**********************************************************************

As it was not my face

In my reflection

But rather the back of my head

With all my hair

Over the section

**********************************************************************

I looked back at my mane

And pulled the strands

To see

Another eye looking

Back at me

*******************************************************************

I spun around to see my face

My nose, ears and two eyes

Where they should be

Yet a sense of doom

I could still see

The rest of the room

**********************************************************************

I spun around same as before

I pulled my hair back

“Shut the front door!”

As the third eye was there

Looking at me in fear

**********************************************************************

Voices in the next room

Family starting to awaken

I covered my extra vision

To not leave them shaken

**********************************************************************

I got ready for work

And tried to assert

That things would be okay

Sporting a hoodie

On a hot summer day

**********************************************************************

At my office

I sat in wonder

What did I do?

To now have more than two

*********************************************************************

Then I began to ponder

Could this be a gift?

Something that would uplift?

**********************************************************************

Out of the office

I strode!

Let down the hoodie

And watched my coworkers

Explode!

**********************************************************************

As I parted my hair

In the back

Colleagues behind me looked like

They would have

A heart attack

**********************************************************************

“Yes!” I proclaimed

To the stares all around

“I now have a third eye!

Forget The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

I can see you and you

And you behind me too!”

My 360 view

Was pretty cool

**********************************************************************

Except for the buzzing

What was that sound

I woke to turn around

**********************************************************************

Hitting the alarm

I felt my head

Just hair and nothing more

I began to frown

The Girl With The 3rd Eye

Was now in my folklore.

surreal poetry
59

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Janice Dailyabout a year ago

    This narrative is so engaging and the internal conflict the character experiences is well-represented. The use of imagery and metaphors, such as the metaphor of the "maze" to describe the world, adds depth to this piece. Overall, this is a thought-provoking and entertaining piece of poetry. Bravo!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very captivating poem , was on edge to see how it end. Awesome 👏

  • Zahra Movassaghabout a year ago

    very nice https://clients1.google.de/url?sa=t&url=https://komaket.com/ https://clients1.google.dk/url?sa=t&url=https://komaket.com/ https://clients1.google.dz/url?q=https://komaket.com/

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wow, I can't believe I somehow missed this one! Huge congrats on Top Story! I really love the concept of the third eye, and super enjoyed how you brought us through the entire experience! Very vivid and detailed; I felt like I was there with you. I love that last line as well! Wonderful job with this! 🥰

  • P.A. Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    Interesting dream! Do you ever try to interpret dreams?

  • Seni Haksabout a year ago

    Spooky read it really hooked me in to read on. Well done.

  • Marilyn Gloverabout a year ago

    This is awesome! I could picture the whole scenario!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Congratulations on the top story!!! A third eye freaks me out. What a dream!!! 😵

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I like this because it reminds me of a Japanese folktale where a man married a beautiful woman who never ate. Then one day he and the villagers figured out why. She had a mouth on the back of her head that was covered by her long hair.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    This is definitely dreamlike! Great read!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This is so good! Great rhythm and it flowed so well! Congratulations on the well-deserved Top Story!

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    I love the rhythm and light hearted tone of this poem. Such fun to be carried through this!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    What a fun perspective. I loved this

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Ahhhh!!! Amazing 🤩 I loved this it was like a cool scene from a movie!!! Congratulations on your top story

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I already loved this but Congrats on the Top Story!!

  • Calvin ELabout a year ago

    *Goosebumps* Great poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats, very well deserved.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Creepy! Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Poppy about a year ago

    A very compelling poem!

  • Really neat how wrote this. Hearted.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.