Poets logo

The Girl I Remember

A Gift, to You

By Kiersten FoxPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

You are not the Girl I remember

The Girl with a pale face and careless smile

That Girl loved Fall Out Boy and cinnamon sugar waffles

That Girl could never paint her stubby nails,

and wrote out her messy poems IN ALL CAPS

I used to yearn for that Girl's return

decimating fields of dandelions and killing time between 11:11's,

filling endless wishing wells with spare change,

I'd have given anything to have that Girl back.

But that Girl was small.

All that time I didn't see, because I too was small

Yet as I grew, as did the space between us,

I began to understand. How tight the old me felt,

like a favorite t-shirt I'd outgrown but could not part with

I'll store it in my box of keepsakes, cherish it forever,

but it no longer has a place hanging in my closet

This new Woman is not small- she is growing

This Woman has an orange pixie cut, tattoos, and piercings,

and a confidence that defies everything.

This Woman listens to rap, eats vegetarian,

and publishes her writing for the world to see

I used to believe that losing that small Girl was losing a part of myself

But the caterpillar must leave for the butterfly to emerge,

and there must first be ashes for the phoenix to rise from.

Neither of us are the small Girls we once were.

We are Women. We are Growing. We are Becoming.

Old Friend,

I am glad you're not the Girl I remember

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kiersten Fox

Constantly searching for new ways to challenge myself and develop new writing skills. I mainly write poetry, but also enjoy summarizing psychological journal articles. Thank you for exploring my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.