Poets logo

The Girl Across the Room

The girl I had to have

By Gene LassPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4

Tired of humanity

Struggling with my sanity

I stood in my living room

Wondering if I should ever leave

I had had my cats and my books

Music and movies

Was there a point

To anything more?

I was invited out

But didn't know if I could stand it

The small talk, the bullshit

Each beer the price of a six-pack

I stroked my beard and thought

Thought of telling Grandma

I was a confirmed bachelor

Thinking of being a hermit

No grandkids for you

I just can't handle small talk

Or mind games

And now I'm living in a cave

I looked at my watch

Looked at my cats

And decide to try

One last time

"Tonight I'm going to meet a girl

And actually try.

I'm going to give it everything I have

And if it fails, then I'm done."

So I went to the bar in Arlington.

Carbon Leaf was playing

I hadn't heard of them

They're still together

I watched the people file in

Men and women

And I saw the blonde

HER

That was the girl

It turned out she was friends with

One of my friend's girlfriend

They were there together

I didn't like his girlfriend

Didn't much like the friend

But I liked that girl

We talked for hours

Drank and ate

I got her number

Called her that night

Called her Monday

And Tuesday

Date on Friday

And Saturday

Then 2 or 3 dates a week

Moved in by summer

Married by Fall

Still married now

love poems
4

About the Creator

Gene Lass

Gene Lass is a professional writer, writing and editing numerous books of non-fiction, poetry, and fiction. Several have been Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers. His short story, “Fence Sitter” was nominated for Best of the Net 2020.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.