Poets logo

The Gender That I Lack

They/Them

By Brie HaynesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
The Gender That I Lack
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I want to be me

Not this idea of who I’m supposed to be.

Trapped in your ideal,

Knowing deep down that none of this is real.

Who I’m meant to be

Doesn’t match who I am.

This shell is a prison,

‘Cause I’m not a woman nor a man.

I’m somewhere in between.

That’s what makes my mind feel free.

Society is wrong.

I am they,

Not he or she.

‘Cause I’m just me.

America is backwards,

But science has my back.

My genes are all encoded with

The gender that I lack.

You think I’m a rebel,

Or following a trend.

But I desire normalcy,

A happily ever end.

But I’m somewhere in between.

They, not he or she.

It’s not a choice I chose to make,

But all the same, it’s me.

The frustration,

Confusion,

Who knows what to say?

I’m still not accepted

At the end of the day.

If someone would just listen,

Or try to understand.

I am they, not he or she,

Just take me by the hand,

And maybe I can show you,

Being both is okay too.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.