Poets logo

The Gate of the Unworthy

Humans' Cruelty

By Alyce WillowPublished 2 days ago 1 min read
Credits- Istock

When I die, please put me at the gates of all the animals mankind dreamed unworthy.

The ones who suffered at the hands of humans hate.

Let me stand among wolves who once roamed wild and free and are now caged by fear and man's decree

And the birds with their broken wings, the ones that humanity turned their back on centuries ago.

Place me with the elephants who are hunted for all their worth

Let me be with the spiders weaving their webs that are so fine and light,

And the let the snakes roam in shadows, their scales sleek and divine

And the bees, please let their hives be glorious and vast,

Let them leave their forests of violence

Let their afterlife be peaceful.

And when death falls upon me,

Let me stand and bear witness,

To the souls mankind did betray.

Let me show them kindness, for death will always be kinder than man.

sad poetrynature poetryheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

Alyce Willow

Hello, I am a young journalist and poet. I have dedicated the last few years to honing my writing skills and have found joy in using words to express my thoughts and emotions. Thank you for taking the time to read about my hyperfixations.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Esala Gunathilakea day ago

    Your perspective was brilliant. Loved it.

  • shanmuga priya2 days ago

    It's a reminder of the broken relationships that exist between humans and the animal kingdom.

  • Fly Alone2 days ago

    Super expression. It exposes the injustices that living beings face at the hands of humans. TS.

Alyce WillowWritten by Alyce Willow

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.