Poets logo

The Forgotten Children

A cry from a child that never experienced a normal childhood.

By Christian BassPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
The Forgotten Children
Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

Memories of growing up and having pain

Loneliness buried deep in my brain.

.

We lived in little rooms and dreamt of harmony,

just gone too soon, we left our family.

Now, time is tough, we can't say enough

when we fight with our past, our time can't run fast.

.

We are all united and standing strong

We all say today, really nothing was wrong.

We are the forgotten children, tell us, are we bad?

We are the forgotten children, so tell us, are we bad?

.

Together in harmony, we join our hands and sing

The past days we had absolutely nothing.

The road of life is tough, it has had ups and downs

But now we have enough and conquer our hometown.

.

We are all united and standing strong

We all say today, really nothing was wrong.

We are the forgotten children, tell us, are we bad?

We are the forgotten children, so tell us, are we bad?

.

Mother and father had no time for their children

so the best was this home where we grew up all alone

And we learned there, how to have a heart of stone

From north to south, east to west let us do our best

No matter how far we have to go, don't say no

Because your children love you so!

.

We are all united and standing strong

We all say today, really nothing was wrong.

We are the forgotten children, tell us, are we bad?

We are the forgotten children, so tell us, are we bad?

*

This was the first time I tried to write something about my time in the orphanage, against all those, who constantly told me, that it is impossible to remember anything about it for me because I was about 18 months old when I finally left it. Nowadays the psychologist are smarter and know that traumatic events will be remembered by children, no matter how old they are.

My childhood was also determined by the fact that I was able to remember a lot of things that a child supposedly cannot remember. And of course, since I was deprived of my memory, no one realized how miserable I was. And for my adoptive family nothing has changed, they rrefuse to listen to my story, they refuse to accept my life before I joined them. I think, they have no choice, because if they listen, they would realize that I was right all the time and actually had memories. And they fought hard to make sure I was just imagining it all.

social commentary

About the Creator

Christian Bass

An author, who writes tales of human encounters with nature and wildlife. I dive into the depths of the human psyche, offering an insights into our connection with the world around us, inviting us on a journeys.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    oh my goodness. I am happy you can put your memories and feelings to words. Keep on keeping on! 👏

  • Courtanae Heslop4 months ago

    Wow, your words hit me deep. 🌟 It's incredible how you've expressed the pain and resilience of growing up in such challenging circumstances. Your journey speaks volumes about the strength of the human spirit. 🌱 Despite the hardships, you've found the courage to share your story and confront the shadows of your past. Your determination to overcome and find harmony is truly inspiring. 🌈 As you reflect on your memories, you challenge misconceptions and shed light on the importance of listening and acknowledging each other's experiences. 🎗️ Keep shining your light and embracing your truth. 🌟 How do you find the strength to keep pushing forward despite the obstacles? 🌺

Christian BassWritten by Christian Bass

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.