Poets logo

The Forest

It is peaceful.

By Darla M SeelyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

I dreamed I walked through a nut-brown forest.

Leaves and twigs crunched under my feet.

As I scaled a tall tree, I smelled the damp wood.

I heard the wind whistle through the trees.

I heard the melodic sound of the birds.

Their tunes seemed to soothe my heart.

Suddenly I heard some squirrels chatter.

They were scampering nearby.

The blue sky was dotted with clouds.

The morning stars shone like silver petals.

I smelled nectar from the lush flowers

And felt a warm and gentle breeze.

The rain made the air fresh and clean.

I wish I could have felt it on my face.

There was a splendid rainbow in the sky.

All of the clouds had disappeared.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Darla M Seely

I love to write poems, crochet, take photos, and make scrapbooks.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    I like the way you shift us around among contrasting images of night & day, climbing trees & smelling flowers, rain, rainbows, morning stars, clouds, clear skies in this dream, melding them into a whole. One editorial note: On the second line you have, "Leaves and twigs leaves crunched under my feet." I'm guessing the second "leaves" got left in accidentally after changing it to "Leaves & twigs...."

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Darla this was an interesting piece. I love the little journey you took us on by using your descriptive language to invoke familiar sense to the reader, as though they were there experiencing this with you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.